Yes, Of Course! Stupid!

Ever have that Doctor moment when you smack yourself in the head and say “Yes, Of Course. Stupid!” I just had that moment when I was in the middle of planning a costume piece. I was thinking that for this particular piece I needed to buy a commercial pattern. But I was running low on cash already. I was starring at Google images with different pictures of patterns laid out like this:

http://www.fashion-era.com/images/1930-womens-wear-patterns-fashions/1930-coat-style-vintage-pattern-draft-chart.jpg

All the pieces flattened and laid out.

When it hits me. I can draft may own patterns. I have been doing it for years now, why does it have to change for this costume piece. I am so clouded sometimes. I guess with the craziness of life lately, I felt incompetent and thought I needed help. Oh ho ho No! That was the self doubt fairy talking:

http://rachelthegreat.com/comics/the-self-doubt-fairy-page-1/

Luckily I plucked her wings and tossed her out the window. Don’t get me wrong, help is good. Sometimes you need help to make it through some things. But when you realizes that you are stronger, smarter, more talented than you let yourself believe, you feel like you can do anything.

Which make me also realize, why should I limit my options of outerwear to cloaks?! Coats are not bad at all…especially if they are from the 19th century!

Leave a Reply

