The Very Fabric

So I was reading a few blogs and I was looking at all the amazing costumes people have made. What really astonished me was what they said about the fabric: “I got it at Walmart.”  Say what?! Since when does Walmart sell fabric? And then Doctor moment: “Yes, Of course! Stupid! They bought curtains or table clothes or bed sheets.” They are made of beautiful fabrics and there is so much yardage in each package since they have to cover a lot of distance AND (now here’s the kicker) they cost way less than if you would by yards of fabric from a fabric store!  This is a HUGE deal!

Figure this: The really fancy fabric that curtains and cushions are made of (believe me, they are beautiful or you wouldn’t buy them)  sold in a fabric store by the yard it would cost about $15-$20 a yard (best case scenario). And for a pretty dress or coat you will need more than one. Now if you bought a queen size sheet or large curtain, you would get about 3 or 4 yards in one pack for maybe $20 or $25. Significantly cheaper, don’t you think?

This makes this whole project each week for a year thing more financially feasible. Of course, for some pieces the fabric store is a necessity but if I can swing it then I’ll be hanging out in the Home sections in many a marts this year.

I should have remembered this since the first costumes I made were made of bed sheets.

Check out this blog that made me think of this:

http://eldameldo.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

