Easter Outfit Triumph!

And for my first trick…a simple Easter brunch outfit…tada…

Yes, this is the start of me getting back to making outfits for the heck of it. Kind of a quickie but it still felt good to wear something new that I made. It felt even better when a young lady said to me “I love your outfit. You look so colorful!”…Oh those self-centered, egotistical feels. So addictive.

To be honest, the process was quite quick. It all started with Pinterest (as it always does). First, an inspiration page.

easter-outfit-inspiration

 

Easy enough, I have most of the clothing already. A blouse, a sweater, necklace, shoes and a bag. I just need to make a tulle skirt and a beret. Alright time to gather the materials.

dsc02656

 

Now lets make the skirt! (Pink?! I know right, I am so drawn to blue and I used to hate pink. I was surprise by this choice. But it was two days ’til Easter and I just used what I had in my stash. This was thanks to a Frozen themed party I decorated. Anna cape…get it?)

So I finally got to try out my new ruffler foot I bought last year.

dsc02666

 

Yep! That scary thing. Then just add a waistband (I used elastic ’cause I couldn’t be bothered to make a proper, fancy waistband)…

dsc02667

 

And (literally) poof! I was done under an hour!

dsc02668

 

I had to steam the snot out of it but still, it was done!

Next was the necklace which I crafted from thrifted pearls and a lovely flower brooch I bought from Ann’s Booty (https://www.facebook.com/AnnsBooty). Oh! And one of my favorite necklaces given to me by me darling love of my life.

dsc02674

 

Finally, the beret was left which really didn’t work out. I tried to follow the tutorial from Craftstylish.com (http://www.craftstylish.com/item/60568/how-to-sew-a-cutout-beret/page/all) but its not the best thing to do when it is late at night and you are sleep deprived. I was also working on an Anna cosplay commission and just decided to use the embroidery template as the cut out and …yeah…not a good look. So, we live and we learn.

Oh well, my hair could be done anyway…And drum roll for the outfit big reveal.

dsc02682

 

TADA (Ack! Shoes are untied!). It felt awesome to get back to making clothes for myself just because. Lord knows I need to do it more often. This is definitely the start of (or refreshing of) my want to make new clothing for any small, normal event and my want for more pretty things in my too small closet. Okay, onward to creative victory!

❤ SirLadyCostumer

Leave a Reply

